Starting with a BANG! and Cookies!

Our morning yesterday started with a BANG! Literally.  Well, more of a screeeeechhhh, BANG, metal crunching and sliding start to the day.

We were enjoying a much needed sleep in on a long weekend Monday when we were so rudely awakened.  We rushed outside to find someone had crashed into and completely obliterated our neighbor’s fence. The entire fence was lifted away from its posts, thrown against their front window and the car was an inch away from our fence and just metres from a lamp post.  Thank God no one was injured.

Hubby stayed and helped clean up for a while, and I came home with the kids.

When my darling husband returned, he suggested that it might be a good idea to send some baked goods over.  After all, we had finally met our neighbors and it would be a kind gesture considering the morning they started with!  I agreed and it was decided that chocolate chip cookies would do nicely.

The recipe I made was a new one for me.  It has espresso powder and corn starch in it!  Yum!  I love trying new things.  Check out The Domestic Rebel and her recipe for The Best Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies.  They really are divine – and they lived up to her promise of being, “soft, chewy, supremely chocolaty and bursting with buttery goodness.”

So on with the process.  To start – I creamed the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar.

Yum, am I the only one that loves to taste this part??

20160606_135403

Then – the eggs and vanilla.

20160606_135606

Followed by the dry ingredients.  I always like to beat in the ‘small’ dry ingredients first – in this case the espresso powder, corn starch, baking soda and salt.  I have no idea if this is correct or not but I am really averse to biting down on a chuck of baking soda that somehow got through the sifter…

20160606_135951

Then I stir in the flour.

20160606_140210

Add the chocolate chips… a lot of them.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any dark chips on hand so only milk chocolate for these babies.

20160606_140311

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto your cookie sheet.

20160606_152306

And bake until golden.  I did notice that these cookies puffed up a little bit, don’t be tempted to over cook and let them fall back down.  As they cool they will naturally settle and they stay nice and gooey-chewy in the middle.  Mmmmmm….

These are super yummy…

OK, quick confession time… the neighbors didn’t get any cookies…. GASP… what!!??

By the time we had gone to the grocery store, waited two hours for the dough to chill and actually made the morsels of delight it was getting dark out. And we were tired. And lazy. And being naughty and eating them all.  Ooooppps. Don’t tell the neighbors…

Sneaky way for hubby to get cookies huh!?

 

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    Yikes – what a day and of course every cloud has a silver lining and a very ‘cunning’ hubby sitting on top! MMmmm those cookies look scrumptious diddlyumptious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha poor guy. His intentions were good I believe but I was a bit slow and it certainly worked in his favor! They were yummy!

      Like

  2. Yum ! I love chocolate chip cookies 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Andy Oldham says:

    I will certainly try these! They sound wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh please do! And I would love to hear how you get on. They didn’t last long in this house! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love how the first sheet of cookies never make it to a plate, that’s when you know they are perfect. I’ve never used expresso powder, another reason to explore the food store.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. You have an amazing blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I hadn’t tried espresso powder in cookies before either, they add a really nice flavor. Very subtle.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lorriebowden says:

    I love it!!! And I love chocolate chip cookies…honestly…I have no will power…if they are in the house I will eat them until they are gone!!! Hence…I don’t bake very much 😉 (Happy no one was hurt in the crash!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man, us too! There are none left in the house now. 😯 We honestly couldn’t believe it when we went outside and no one was hurt. We had that feeling of what are we walking into as we walked out to see what had happened. So thankful.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pete Hendriksson says:

    I just posted that God doesn’t do DHL but I sure hope you would….nobody hit my car, I don’t even have one! But since you now owe someone LOL 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cate B says:

    LOL I’ve done the same thing to my neighbors. Great blog you have. And thank you for the follow. 😀
    cate b

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha oops! And thanks, I’m really enjoying it. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your link to my site! What a lovely surprise. I am honored. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

