When did I grow up?

Do you ever wonder when you grew up? Now I am not talking literally growing up in terms of height, age and stature.  It’s more of an inside thing I’m meaning.

I watch my children as they play with a sense of awe and wonder. They have a fantastical imagination. They see joy in EVERYTHING. They are LOUD and FUN. (Remind me of this when I’m shushing them, OK!!??) They want to play games, make stuff out of nothing and invent jokes that sometimes make no sense.  They want us to laugh with them as they giggle hysterically. Right now, as I type, they are jumping on the bed wearing pirate hats and shouting, “IT’S A PIRATE LIFE!! IT’S A PIRATE LIFE!”

Remember those times?

When did I grow up??

Not that I never have fun, laugh, or imagine.  If you read my blog you know I do. But I feel like I have to force it a little bit more.  It’s not as natural as it once was.

How did this happen? I didn’t give my body and mind permission to slow down the fun train!

I always dreamed of getting married, buying our first house, paying bills, being a Mom but I dreamed of it as an adventure.  I am doing all those things I dreamed of, but have I lost my sense of adventure?  Why do we let things become chores and a reason for anxiety?

This brings me back to something I’ve touched on before.  God is in control.  He has His glory and OUR best interests in His firm hands.  NOTHING can happen that is not meant to.  I am here as HIS vessel, HIS princess.  We teach our children that they are princes and princesses, CHILDREN OF THE KING.  We tell them not to worry, “He’s got the whole world in His hands.” It’s time to remember this as adults.  He will help us and guide us.  He wants us to be happy in the joy found in Him.  EMBRACE JOY again.

“We know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  Romans 8:28

Lord, help me to find joy in EVERYTHING again.  SEE things through the eyes of my children.  EXPERIENCE love, laughter, faith, and LIFE as they do. Make it natural.  Though I see and experience trials and sadness in this world, let me never stop seeing YOUR world and THIS life through the eyes of my children.   

20160627_193948 (2)
Yep, she’s licking her knee!! 🙂
35 Comments Add yours

  1. I always forget I’M the GROWNUP!!!!! so hard to fathom! She’s adorable too ❤

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Love it! And thank you. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. heartandsoul777 says:

    ahh the days when you could lick your knee just becuz i miss those days! hahah couldnt lick my knee now if my life depended on it! she is adorable!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha right!!! She had us all cracking up with laughter. Thanks. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. heartandsoul777 says:

        liddle kids are so funny!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. OsagePrairie says:

    I’m learning to be a kid again through my 4 grandchildren, ages 1, 3, 6, and 9. Such joy! Enjoy your little ones now, the housework can wait!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh that’s so cool! I see that with my parents. They are such amazing grandparents and the way they play with the kids is wonderful to watch. Thanks for the kind words and advice! xx

      Like

  4. Wendy says:

    I completely agree with Osageprairie – I’m moving into my 2nd childhood, enjoying being naughty and having fun with my granddaughters! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just love the grandparent/grandchild relationship. It’s so special and unique! Enjoy every minute. xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wendy says:

        It truly is and I feel blessed! I really do savour ever precious moment! x

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey wingingitbygrace,nominated you for the 3 day quote challenge.wanted to link you to my post for my first day for the guidelines,not sure if I even did it right.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joyful2bee says:

    I agree about how our lives change when we grow up. Children can help us renew that joy. They are another one of God’s amazing gifts.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. They sure are! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A great post. Growing up is different than getting old.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And thank you! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Suze says:

    I grew up rapidly when my children started school…now thank goodness I have reverted to childhood and life is FUN again..every single day. I was an adult for around 25 years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m so happy for you! 🙂 Love that you are enjoying every day. I must admit we are too, sometimes though the balancing act between being grown up and being Peter Pan is hard! Sounds like you have finally mastered it!Keep it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. SeekingGod2 says:

    Sometimes if I fiercely close my eyes shut, I can still go back to the time I thought the world was wide open and full of magical possibilities. Alas, that lasts but a few moments. But I loved being reminded of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too. It’s wonderful to be able to experience it again through the kids. Trying to enjoy every moment! Then, Lord willing, I’ll get another chance with grandkids one day. x

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Wally Fry says:

    Thanks for following my blog, and I hope you find a blessing there

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Love finding new people WordPress. Look forward to reading more of your blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. K.A. says:

    Time really does seem to just fly doesn’t it? *Sigh* Yes, I’m still a kid! 😉 (technically! 😛 haha) But still… I feel like those days when you were a toddler and there wasn’t a SINGLE care in the world! 😀 You could do ..just about anything! 🙂 Yes, I’m STILL SOOOO blessed, but I am thankful for my time right now, and I’m grateful for right now… and I’m enjoying time AS it flies by! 😉 God has guided me so well! 😀 Great post. 😀 Thanks for following my blog! How did you find it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I am so thankful and grateful too! It can only get better too right?! I have so much fun with my kiddos and really get to relive some of my childhood. And my parents and say that it becomes even more fun when you become grandparents! So much to look forward to, Lord willing. 😊 I came across your blog via another person I was following, I believe you may have commented. And well, when I saw the name of your blog and your little sub title I just had to follow. 😊Look forward to getting to know you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. K.A. says:

        No problem! 🙂 Haha, yes, I can imagine it being fun as grandparents! 😀 My grandma is SO cool! 🙂 Not that my mom and dad aren’t, they’re awesome too! 🙂 😀 Aww, thanks so much for following me! 😀 I’m looking forward to getting to know you too! 😀 Do you guys have any animals?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We sure do. We have 3 awesome cats, a dog and quite a few fish (inside and outside). Max is our latest baby. There’s a post about her called Meet Max.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. K.A. says:

        😀 Ooh, cool!! 😀 🙂 Nice, I’ll have to look!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

